A Story of the Linking of the Fire

No comments

[Dark Souls opens]

“Yes, indeed. It is called Lothric, where the transitory lands of the Lords of Cinder converge.
In venturing north, the pilgrims discovered the truth of the old words:

“The fire fades and the lords go without thrones.”

When the link of the fire is threatened, the bell tolls, unearthing the old Lords of Cinders from their graves…

Aldrich, Saint of the Deep…

Farron’s Undead Legion, the Abyss Watchers…

The reclusive lord of the Profaned Capital, Yhorm the Giant…

Only, in truth… the Lords will abandon their thrones…

And the Unkindled will rise.

Nameless, accursed Undead, unfit even to be cinder. And so it is, that ash seeketh embers.”  

The Dark Souls franchise is well known and loved by the community. The third in the series, Dark Souls 3,  is an action role-playing adventure, with a single player mode and online multiplayer mode.

The Story

The game is set in the mythical Kingdom of Lothric, which connects the land of the previous heroes, who linked the fire, known as The Lord of Cinders. From the beginning of the game, we learned that the Lords have abandoned their thrones, leaving and endangering the fire.

The player starts by awaking from a grave, that is later revealed to be the player’s grave from a previous life. Upon beating the first boss of the game and arriving at the Firelink Shrine, you learn that you are an unkindled, someone who had tried and failed to link the fire. The Fire Keeper then asks you to go and gather the Lords and deliver the Lords of Cinder to their thrones.

The Darkness is coming due to the fading fire and now it is up to the player to survive various challenges to save the land. Some of these challenges include enemies you will face, bosses, and side quest you are sent on by other NPCs. To complete your journy you must gather the Lords and link the fire.

Character Options 

Before you start your journey, you get to chose one of ten classes: Knight, Mercenary, Warrior, Herald, Thief, Assassin, Sorcerer, Pyromancer, Cleric, and Deprived. Each of these classes starts with different levels, states, weapons, and armor. You also get the choice to have a burial gift,  which is an item that can be used later. The class you chose will determine how you can play through the game and what you will be able to equip and make use of.

The weapons you can use is only limited by two things: one is how you allocated your skills, and the other is personal preference.  The skills include: vigor, attunement, endurance, vitality, strength, dexterity, intelligence, faith, and luck. The skills are important because weapons need a certain number in certain skills to uses that weapon properly, for example Chaos Blade needs 16 in strength and 14 in dexterity to use it to its fullest. The weapons include: swords, axes, pole-arms, hammers, daggers, fist, whips, ranged weapons, and spell catalysts.

Sorcery and miracles are available and are more for players who want to use magic to aid them in battle. The skills that effect these are intelligence for sorcery and faith for miracles, attunement is also important because in increases the number of sorceresses and miracles you can carry and the number of times you can use said sorceresses and miracles.

 What this game offers 

This game offers a lot to all players, no matter who they are. The visuals of the landscapes are stunning and the effects of spells and attacks are also well done. In terms of game play, it offers a challenge that makes you feel godly for doing even simple things. The characters customization and equipment choices are also aspect that will appeal to all players.